Ambient Music Releases of the Week: April 12, 2024

Differ – KRM & KMRU

Kevin Richard Martin (The Bug) and Joseph Kamaru (KMRU) join forces for Disconnect, an album that releases June 14, 2024. Surprisingly, although KMRU is known for his droning landscapes of sound, he has contributed vocals to this effort. Differ is the first sample of their collab.

Winter Sun / Fever Dream – Gaussian Curve

Gigi Masin, Jonny Nash and Marco Sterk’s Gaussian Curve are back for the first time since their 2016 album ‘The Distance’, presenting two new tracks entitled ‘Winter Sun’ and ‘Fever Dream’.

Imprint – Koichi Shimizu

Composer Koichi Shimizu is best known as the sound designer for Thai film director Apichatpong Weerasethakul. This is a nice sampler of his work that goes from Japanese Environmental music and Autechre-like rhythmic pulses.

Amsterdam Blue – Jon Hassell

Smooth, cool ambient bluesy jazz from the soundtrack of The Million Dollar Hotel.


Ambient Music Releases of the Week: April 5, 2024

Sky Within Us – Various Artists

For its 75th and final release, Toronto-based ambient label Polar Seas has put out a digital compilation album featuring the label’s friends and collaborators. All proceeds will be donated to FLAP Canada, for the protection of birds against collisions with buildings.

Reflections In Repose –Steve Roach

Steve Roach’s latest release, Reflections In Response, was created over two evenings at the Timehouse, Baja Arizona, the eve of Christmas 2023, and was recorded in the same sequence as presented on the two discs’ 116 minutes. The five long-form tracks were performed on a single instrument — the Oberheim OB-X8 — the modern spiritual successor of the iconic Oberheim OB-8 which Steve used 40 years ago in the making of his classic piece Structures from Silence.

Kujyuu – Michiru Aoyama

Michiru Aoyama, the Kyoto-based ambient artist known for writing, recording, and releasing “an album a day”, has released another of his digital albums with an über-design living room on the cover, Kujyuu.

Ambient Music

Ambient Music Releases of the Week: March 29, 2024

Blue and Yellow through Black and Gray – Syrphe

Compilation of tracks created through a collaboration between 12 Ukrainian poets (mostly young) and 15 musical projects from Ukraine and around the globe. The circle of poets is mainly represented by the literary association “Сучасна Українська Поезія” (“Modern Ukrainian Poetry”), and all the musicians belong to the international Ambient and Experimental Music Community. All profits from album sales will be donated to the Military Medical Clinical Center of the Northern Region, located in Kharkiv, Ukraine. 

Ambient Music

Ambient Music Releases of the Week: March 15, 2024

Impossibly distant, impossibly close – Abul Mogard & Rafael Anton Irisarri

This release is borne of a remote partnership that was ignited during a 2023 performance Abul Mogard and Rafael Anton Irisarri did in Madrid for the opening of the SoundSet Series at the Condeduque cultural center.

Ambient Music

Ambient Music Releases of the Week: March 8, 2024

Chimet – MINING

Chimet, named after the Chichester West Pole Beacon, maps meteorological and sea state data onto various musical values to create a continuous electronic music soundscape.

Day – Nils Frahm

Day is Nils Frahm latest collection of solo ambient-ish piano music, and his first album since 2022’s three-hour Music For Animals.

Piano Reverb – Jasmine Wood

Jasmine Wood created Piano Reverb by recording the reverb of sustained notes and chords from an antique, Blüthner grand piano in a vacant Irish church.

Ambient Music

Ambient Music Releases of the Week: March 1, 2024

Indigo – loscil // lawrence english

Indigo is the first single from the Lawrence English and loscil collaborative album, Chroma, that releases April 5, 2024.

The Depth of Rain – Bvdub

The Depth of Rain is the new LP by Brock Van Wey (bvdub) born through finding a handmade steel tongue drum, made by his girlfriend’s uncle.

33 34 – NPVR

33 34 is the final release by the avant garde duo made up of the late Peter Rehberg and Nik Colk Void, NPVR.

Ambients – Oneohtrix Point Never

Ambients is an EP mostly comprised of previously released Oneohtrix Point Never tracks with the exception of the opening track, CC.

At Dusk Hour the Crickets – Kilometer Club

At Dusk Hour the Crickets incorporates field recordings of crickets, wind and campers’ chatter that Daniel Field captured by leaving his field recorder on top of his car on a warm, late-summer night in Oro-Medonte, Ontario.

Cursory Asperses – Celer

Not necessarily a new release for Celer as it was originally released as a limited edition CD-R in 2008, Cursory Asperses, an album that combines cassette tape recordings of sounds from various bodies of water and tape instrument recordings from synthesizers, an organ, cello, piano, and bowed instruments, is now available on Bandcamp.

Making Music Synthesizers

Halloween Theme on Moog Synthesizers

Halloween Theme cover I recorded using the Moog Mother-32, DFAM and Sub37 synthesizers. The original’s famous and odd piano line almost feels like it could have been written on a synth sequencer so it felt fitting to try it out on the Mother-32’s sequencer. Other than the driving 16th note percussion from the Moog DFAM, the rest of the musical bed comes from various layers of Moog Sub37.

Making Music Synthesizers

Blade Runner Titles for Vangelis on the Hydrasynth

In May of 2022, Thanatos reached down and cut a lock of hair from composer Vangelis’ head. Vangelis, possibly most known for scoring Chariots of Fire, also created the soundtrack for the sci-fi noir classic Blade Runner. A lot of synths include patches that make reference to the synth-heavy soundtrack, including the ASM Hydrasynth. At the time of Vangelis’ passing, I decided to try to make a quick rework of Blade Runner Titles using only preset patches from the Hydrasynth. Listen to the track in the video below.


Playlist: January 2014


First playlist of 2014 and first post in a very long time. Includes songs by Majical Cloudz, Flume, Shlohmo, Solids and many more. Super fresh tracks from Canadians with upcoming albums, Mac Demarco and Timber Timbre. Enjoy.


Playlist: July 17th, 2013

A selection of tracks including new Nine Inch Nails, Disclosure, Jon Hopkins, We Are Wolves (Montreal!).